Skip to Main Content

Faculty Guide: Embedding Library Resources

Article Databases

LSCS Libraries subscribes to a wide range of online resources including many articles databases. Most of our databases let you link directly to a particular article or a particular journal title.  For a full list of databases, visit the LSCS Libraries Research Databases: Alphabetical list.

Best practice:

Use the permanent link listed in the database record. Each database vendor may call it something slightly different: permalink, stable link, permanent link. You will know it is a good link that will get you back to that page if it includes the library proxy information (lscsproxy.lonestar.edu). 

Why link to the article instead of downloading it and uploading the PDF into D2L?

  1. Linking complies with copyright law.
  2. Linking gives the Library valuable usage statistics for that article or journal making it more likely that the Library can continue to keep that content. (If the PDF is downloaded, we only get a record of 1 use. If the link is used, we get usage counts for each time a students clicks on the link, so we have a better idea of the importance of that content.)

EBSCO Databases

Linking to EBSCO Content

The library subscribes to several databases from the vendor EBSCO. All EBSCO resources are hosted on the EBSCO platform and have similar tools. Some of the more popular EBSCO databases include Academic Search Complete, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection, and Literary Reference Center.

To embed a permanent link to an article:

  1. Search for the article in the database that you want to use.

  2. In the main record for the article, click on the Permalink tool on the right side.

screenshot of EBSCO article record with arrow pointing to Permalink

  1. A small window will pop up with the permalink. Copy this link.

screenshot of permalink popup link

  1. Use the link wherever in D2L that you would like to share the content with your students.

ProQuest Databases

Linking to ProQuest Content

The library subscribes to additional databases from the vendor ProQuest. ProQuest resources are hosted on similar platforms and have similar tools. Some of the more popular ProQuest databases include ABI/Inform Complete and US Major Dailies.

To embed a permanent link to an article:

  1. Search for the article in the database that you want to use.

  2. In the main record for the article, click on the button for Copy URL.

screenshot of article page in ProQuest with an arrow pointing to the "Copy URL" button

  1. A message will pop up saying that the link was copied to the clipboard.

  2. Use the link wherever in D2L that you would like to share the content with your students.

JSTOR

Linking to JSTOR articles

JSTOR is a little bit different in how you can locate permanent links to its articles and book chapters.

The stable URL that shows in the article record does not actually work if you are off campus. Instead, it will take you to the page without using your Lone Star College access.

To find a truly permanent link with the proxy information for Lone Star:

  1. Locate an article on JSTOR that you want to use, and click on the title to open the article record.
  2. Choose the Share button above the article preview.

screenshot of JSTOR open to an article page with the stable linked crossed out and an arrow pointing to the Share button

  1. Then select Email. (NOTE: We're not really going to email it. We are just using this to get a link that we can copy.)

screenshot of JSTOR share options with an arrow pointing to Email

  1. This will open up a new email with a link in the body of the message. 

screenshot of JSTOR email with link in the body of the message

  1. Select just the URL (be sure to get the whole thing). This URL should let you link back to the article from anywhere.