New User Interface for EBSCO Databases
All EBSCO databases, including Academic Search Complete, have a new look! The new UI matches the look and functionality of our Discovery Search, with a clean, modern appearance and stream-lined interface.
For a quick look at how the new EBSCO platform and Discovery work, check out our short video:
With this change, the database Literary Reference Center has become Literary Reference Source. It's a new name and a new look, but the same literary database.
If you were previously linking to any EBSCO database from the Library, such as Academic Search Complete, you will need to update these links. If you encounter any trouble or need any assistance with this, please let your librarian know.
Major Changes
- Search defaults to Full Text
- Quick Filters appear directly under Search box. All filters open to the right instead of the left of the search results
Library Resources Updates
New Databases
Oxford English Dictionary (coming soon)
(Oxford) Historical dictionary of the English language with over 500,000 entries.
Benezit Dictionary of Artists(Oxford) Provides biographical information on individual artists and the collection, display, and sale of their works. It covers well-known and obscure artists, historic auction records, and over 11,000 images of artists’ signatures, monograms, and stamps of sale
Project MUSE E-booksThis link opens in a new window
Over 77,000 scholarly books in a wide range of subjects within the humanities and social sciences.
Canceled Databases
ProQuest History Vault access ends 9/30/24.
The Libraries will not be renewing access to the primary source database ProQuest History Vault due to low usage and dramatic price increases. We are currently exploring alternative options.
Other Updates
Discovery Search access issue resolved!
The remote access issues that we had been having with the Library's Discovery search giving an error message of "maximum sessions" has been fixed! If you or any of your students encounter any access issues, please let your librarian know.
Integrating the Library into Your Course
Want to incorporate research strategies and information literacy into your class or classes?
Check out the general library lessons available or ask about a custom guide, lesson, or video for your class or assignment.
Example Assignment GuideBUSI 1301 Company Research Project Guide  | Example Custom LessonInteractive Library 101 H5P Module for HIST 1301
|
Example Custom VideoResearch Video for PHED 1164 Research Project
| Library Intro VideoNew Library Services Introduction Video available.
|
Contact your Librarian
Katie McGittigan
katherine.m.mcgittigan@lonestar.edu