Library Services Updates for Faculty

Library Database Trials - Your Feedback is Needed!

10/03/2024

Katherine McGittigan

No Subjects

The LSC Libraries are currently trialing some potential new databases, and we would love to get your feedback on whether they would make good additions to our current resources.

O'Reilly for Higher Education

Previously known as "Safari," this collection includes over 50,000 e-books, audio books, and thousands of videos and other sources on a variety of current business and technology topics. It covers topics such as programming languages, data engineering, web development, visual design, data science, leadership, business strategy, project management, economics, operating systems, AI, cloud computing, IT certifications and more.

Link to Trial for O'Reilly - (trial open until Oct. 30,2024)
Faculty Feedback Form

ProQuest Early English Books Online

Collection of digital images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. This collection includes a wide array of historical documents: Bibles, prayer books, royal statutes, proclamations, military, religious and other public documents, almanacs, musical exercises, calendars, broadsides, periodicals and newsbooks, pamphlets and proclamations. Include works by major authors such as Shakespeare, Malory, Spenser, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton and Galileo, along with less frequently studied writers.

Link to Trial for Early English Books Online - (trial open until Oct. 30,2024)
Vendor brochure
Faculty Feedback Form

Artstor

Digital collection of over 3 million rights-cleared (for educational and research purposes), high-quality images from around the world.

Content is included within the Library's JSTOR subscription until the end of the trial period

Link to Trial for Artstor- (trial open until Dec. 31, 2024)
Faculty Feedback Form

Your feedback is important! If you have an opportunity to try out the databases, please let us know what you think by completing the feedback forms linked next to the resources. The more feedback we have, the better case we can make for getting databases added to our collection.

If you have any questions, or if there is anything else that I can assist you with, please don't hesitate to reach out!

This post has no comments.

Oxford English Dictionary now available!

09/09/2024

Katherine McGittigan

No Subjects

The full online version of the Oxford English Dictionary is now available via the Library!

The OED is a historical English dictionary, with the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases.

Video guides are available showing how to navigate the OED.

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It includes present-day meanings and the history of individual words, and of the language.

This post has no comments.

Fall 2024: Beyond the Shelf: Updates from Library Services for LSC-Online Faculty

08/20/2024

Katherine McGittigan

No Subjects

Beyond the Shelf : Updates from Library Services for LSC-Online Faculty, Fall 2024

New User Interface for EBSCO Databases

All EBSCO databases, including Academic Search Complete, have a new look! The new UI matches the look and functionality of our Discovery Search, with a clean, modern appearance and stream-lined interface.
For a quick look at how the new EBSCO platform and Discovery work, check out our short video:

How to Search Discovery

With this change, the database Literary Reference Center has become Literary Reference Source. It's a new name and a new look, but the same literary database.

If you were previously linking to any EBSCO database from the Library, such as Academic Search Complete, you will need to update these links. If you encounter any trouble or need any assistance with this, please let your librarian know.

Major Changes

Search defaults to Full Text
Quick Filters appear directly under Search box. All filters open to the right instead of the left of the search results

Academic Search Results with Quick Filters under the search box including Full Text, Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Journals, Time Period, and Source Type

Library Resources Updates

New Databases

Oxford English Dictionary (coming soon)

(Oxford) Historical dictionary of the English language with over 500,000 entries.

Benezit Dictionary of Artists

(Oxford) Provides biographical information on individual artists and the collection, display, and sale of their works. It covers well-known and obscure artists, historic auction records, and over 11,000 images of artists’ signatures, monograms, and stamps of sale

Project MUSE E-booksThis link opens in a new window

Over 77,000 scholarly books in a wide range of subjects within the humanities and social sciences.

Canceled Databases

ProQuest History Vault access ends 9/30/24.

The Libraries will not be renewing access to the primary source database ProQuest History Vault due to low usage and dramatic price increases. We are currently exploring alternative options.

Other Updates

Discovery Search access issue resolved!

The remote access issues that we had been having with the Library's Discovery search giving an error message of "maximum sessions" has been fixed! If you or any of your students encounter any access issues, please let your librarian know.

Integrating the Library into Your Course

Want to incorporate research strategies and information literacy into your class or classes?

Check out the general library lessons available or ask about a custom guide, lesson, or video for your class or assignment.

Contact your Librarian

Katie McGittigan

katherine.m.mcgittigan@lonestar.edu

This post has no comments.

Back to LSC-Online Library Faculty Services

Recent Posts

Library Database Trials - Your Feedback is Needed!

The LSC Libraries are currently trialing some potential new databases, and we would love to get your feedback on whether they would make good additions to our current resources.O'Reilly for Higher EducationPreviously known as "Safari," this collection includes over 50,000 e-books, audio books, and thousands of videos and other sources on a variety of current business and technology topics. It covers topics such as programming languages, data engineering, web development, visual design, data science, leadership, business strategy, project management, economics, operating systems, AI, cloud computing, IT certifications and more. Link to Trial for O'Reilly - (trial open until Oct. 30,2024)Faculty Feedback FormProQuest Early English Books OnlineCollection of digital images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. This collection includes a wide array of historical documents: Bibles, prayer books, royal statutes, proclamations, military, religious and other public documents, almanacs, musical exercises, calendars, broadsides, periodicals and newsbooks, pamphlets and proclamations. Include works by major authors such as Shakespeare, Malory, Spenser, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton and Galileo, along with less frequently studied writers. Link to Trial for Early English Books Online - (trial open until Oct. 30,2024)Vendor brochureFaculty Feedback FormArtstor Digital collection of over 3 million rights-cleared (for educational and research purposes), high-quality images from around the world. Content is included within the Library's JSTOR subscription until the end of the trial period Link to Trial for Artstor- (trial open until Dec. 31, 2024)Faculty Feedback FormYour feedback is important! If you have an opportunity to try out the databases, please let us know what you think by completing the feedback forms linked next to the resources. The more feedback we have, the better case we can make for getting databases added to our collection. If you have any questions, or if there is anything else that I can assist you with, please don't hesitate to reach out!...

Oxford English Dictionary now available!

The full online version of the Oxford English Dictionary is now available via the Library! The OED is a historical English dictionary, with the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases.Video guides are available showing how to navigate the OED.Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It includes present-day meanings and the history of individual words, and of the language. ...

Fall 2024: Beyond the Shelf: Updates from Library Services for LSC-Online Faculty

New User Interface for EBSCO DatabasesAll EBSCO databases, including Academic Search Complete, have a new look! The new UI matches the look and functionality of our Discovery Search, with a clean, modern appearance and stream-lined interface.For a quick look at how the new EBSCO platform and Discovery work, check out our short video:How to Search DiscoveryWith this change, the database Literary Reference Center has become Literary Reference Source. It's a new name and a new look, but the same literary database.If you were previously linking to any EBSCO database from the Library, such as Academic Search Complete, you will need to update these links. If you encounter any trouble or need any assistance with this, please let your librarian know.Major ChangesSearch defaults to Full TextQuick Filters appear directly under Search box. All filters open to the right instead of the left of the search results Library Resources Updates New DatabasesOxford English Dictionary (coming soon) (Oxford) Historical dictionary of the English language with over 500,000 entries. Benezit Dictionary of ArtistsThis link opens in a new window(Oxford) Provides biographical information on individual artists and the collection, display, and sale of their works. It covers well-known and obscure artists, historic auction records, and over 11,000 images of artists’ signatures, monograms, and stamps of sale Project MUSE E-booksThis link opens in a new windowOver 77,000 scholarly books in a wide range of subjects within the humanities and social sciences. Canceled DatabasesProQuest History Vault access ends 9/30/24.The Libraries will not be renewing access to the primary source database ProQuest History Vault due to low usage and dramatic price increases. We are currently exploring alternative options. Other UpdatesDiscovery Search access issue resolved!The remote access issues that we had been having with the Library's Discovery search giving an error message of "maximum sessions" has been fixed! If you or any of your students encounter any access issues, please let your librarian know. Integrating the Library into Your CourseWant to incorporate research strategies and information literacy into your class or classes?Check out the general library lessons available or ask about a custom guide, lesson, or video for your class or assignment.Example Assignment GuideBUSI 1301 Company Research Project GuideExample Custom LessonInteractive Library 101 H5P Module for HIST 1301Example Custom VideoResearch Video for PHED 1164 Research Project Library Intro VideoNew Library Services Introduction Video available. Contact your Librarian Katie McGittigankatherine.m.mcgittigan@lonestar.edu ...

Name (Optional)

Comment

Placeholder for captcha question