LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Find OER & Open Access Resources

Finding OER and Open Access Resources

Links to different places to find OER and open resources, arranged by type.

OER Search Tools

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool, developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library, that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 115 different sources and contains 455,499 records.

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) is a real-time, federated search across 22 different sources of OER materials. Hosted by George Mason University Library.

OER Repositories

MERLOT
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
OERTX Repository
Discover collections of OER resources. From the Higher Education Coordinating Board of Texas.
OpenLearn
OpenLearn is a free learning platform, delivered by The Open University. You will find over 1,000 free courses, topical and interactive content, videos and online games on OpenLearn.

Textbooks

OpenStax College
An initiative by Rice University, publishing open licensed books and free associated resources
Open Textbook Library
Offering over 1400 open textbooks, supported by the Open Education Network
Milne Open Textbooks
Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
B.C. Open Collection
The B.C. Open Collection is a curated selection of open educational resources (OER) that can be accessed by educators in B.C. and beyond to use in the classroom, in an institutional learning management system, or on other teaching and learning platforms. All materials are openly licensed. This means they are free to use, customize, and share.
Open Textbooks for Engineering
List of open textbooks for engineering organized by the American Society for Engineering Education, Engineering Library Division
Open Textbooks for Math
Open textbooks for math compiled by the American Institute of Mathematics
PDXOpen
PDXOpen is a collection of open access textbooks and open educational resources (OER) from Portland State University
Wikibooks
Open-content textbook collection that anyone can edit

E-books

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Over 54,000 free e-books in the public domain.

Directory of Open Access Books
Over 80,000 academic peer-reviewed books available open access
Cornell Open
Open access e-books available for
teachers, students, scholars, and interested readers around the world. From Cornell University Press
HathiTrust Digital Library
Large collection of digitized books, largely from academic libraries. About 40% is available in the public domain or by open access licensing.
MIT Press Direct: Open Books
MIT Press books available via Open Access
Library of Congress Open Access Books
Open access collection available via the Library of Congress
Open Book Publishers
Open access publisher of academic research in the Humanities and Social Sciences in the UK
Standard Ebooks
Open source and free public domain ebooks
National Academies Press
Authoritative, scholarly works in science, engineering, and medicine
LibriVox
Public domain audiobooks
IntechOpen
Read, share, and download more that 6,900 peer-reviewed Open Access books

Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
Open Access Pub
Established to promote the advancement of science and technology by embracing the principles of Open Access publication and maintaining the highest standards of academic excellence and integrity.
MIT Press Direct: Open Access Journals
Journals published by MIT Press available open access

Courses

Open Course Library
A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download.
Open Yale Courses
Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University.
MIT OpenCourseWare
Free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT.
No registration required.
edX
Access 2,000 free online courses from 140 leading institutions worldwide. Online learning platform from digital education company 2U.

Videos, Interactive Media, and Other Resources

HippoCampus
Explore thousands of free videos in 12 subject areas including Math, Natural Sciences, Social Science, and Humanities. Content ranges from middle school to college.
PHET Interactive Simulations
Interactive simulations for science and math, hosted by the University of Colorado Boulder
Skills Commons
World’s Largest open library of workforce training materials designed for 21st Century employment