LibGuides: MLA Style (9th ed.): Citation Guide: MLA Citation Examples

What type of information do you need to cite?

Use the links below or scroll to find the type of information.

Books & Ebooks

Book (1 author)

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Book Title. Publisher, Year.

Example:

In-Text

(Ogden 25)

Works Cited

Ogden, Daniel. The Werewolf in the Ancient World. Oxford UP, 2021.

Book (2 authors)

Author Last Name, Author First Name, and Author First Name Last Name. Book Title. Publisher, Year.

Example:

In-Text

(Hafdahl and Florence 25)

Works Cited

Hafdahl, Meg, and Kelly Florence. The Science of Monsters: The Truth about Zombies, Witches, Werewolves, Vampires, and Other Legendary Creatures. Skyhorse, 2019.

Book with a Corporate Author

Company name. Book Title, Edition, Publisher, Year.

Example:

In-Text

(American Heart Association 25)

Works Cited

American Heart Association. The New American Heart Association Cookbook, 8th ed., Clarkson Potter, 2010.

Ebook (from Library Database)

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Book Title. Publisher, Year. Database name, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(Groom 34)

Works Cited

Groom, Nick. The Vampire a New History. Yale UP, 2018. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://research-ebsco-com.lscsproxy.lonestar.edu/linkprocessor/plink?id=b5155992-ab94-3dea-a326-1b25f3e9fd07.

Ebook (Online)

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Book Title. Version, Edition, Publisher, Year. Website name, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(Cervantes)

Works Cited

Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de. The History of Don Quixote. Translated by John Ormsby. Project Gutenberg, https://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/996.

Edited Chapter in a Book (anthology or collection)

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of essay or chapter." Book Title, edited by Editor First Name Last Name, Publisher, Year, page range.

Example:

In-Text

(Russ 202)

Works Cited

Russ, Joanna. "The Image of Women in Science Fiction." Science Fiction Criticism: An Anthology of Essential Writings, edited by Rob Latham, Bloomsbury, 2017, pp.200-10.

Article in a Reference Book (Encyclopedia or Dictionary) with no author

"Article Title." Book Title, edited by Editor First Name Last Name, edition, Publisher, Year, page range.

Example:

In-Text

("Detecting Werewolves" 202)

Works Cited

"Detecting Werewolves." The Werewolf Book: The Encyclopedia of Shape-Shifting Beings, edited by Brad Steiger, 2nd ed., Visible Ink Press, 2011.

Journal Articles

Journal Article in Print

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, volume, issue number, year, pages.

Example:

In-Text

(Jawer 99-100)

Works Cited

Jawer, Michael. "Emotion: The Connective Tissue of Atmospheres and Haunts." Journal of Scientific Exploration, vol. 37, no. 1, Spring 2023, pp. 88-105.

Journal Article with a DOI (from library database or website)

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, volume, issue number, year, pages. Name of Database, doi number with https://doi.org/ in front.

Example:

In-Text

(Klopov et al. 2637)

Works Cited

Klopov, Ivan et al. "Digital Transformation of Education Based on Artificial Intelligence." TEM Journal, vol. 12, no. 4, Nov. 2023, pp. 2635-44. Academic Search Complete, https://doi.org/10.18421/TEM124-74.

Journal Article without a DOI (from library database or website)

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, volume, issue number, year, pages. Name of Database, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(Li 750)

Works Cited

Li, Alex S. "Touring Outer Space: The Past, Present, and Future of Space Tourism." Cleveland State Law Library, vol. 71, no. 3, 2023, pp. 743-810. Academic Search Complete, https://research-ebsco-com.lscsproxy.lonestar.edu/linkprocessor/plink?id=f4285000-7d8e-3bec-91f6-7fab62fddfe6.

Magazines & Newspapers

Magazine Article in Print

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Volume, Issue number, Year, Pages.

Example:

In-Text

(Bhargava 24)

Works Cited

Bhargava, Rohit. "Can You Read Culture?" Inc., vol. 45, no. 6, Winter 2023, p.24.

Magazine Article from Library Database

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, volume, issue number, year, pages. Name of Database or Website, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(Fink)

Works Cited

Fink, TJ. "AI Content Detector: How to Spot AI Creations." Laptop, 31 Dec. 2023. Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A777901979/PPPM?u=nhmccd_main&sid=bookmark-PPPM&xid=8da3cc56.

Magazine Article from Website

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Date, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(Pang)

Works Cited

Pang, Alex Soojung-Kim. "Rest Takes Hard Work." Time, 25 Jan. 2024, https://time.com/6566763/rest-takes-hard-work-essay/.

Newspaper Article in Print

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Day Month Year, Pages.

Example:

In-Text

(Smith A3)

Works Cited

Smith, Dana G. "Here to Help: How to Overcome 'Task Paralysis'" New York Times, 8 Jan. 2023, p. A3+.

Newspaper Article from Library database or Website

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Day Month Year, Pages. Name of Database or Website, URL.

Example (library database):

In-Text

(Akst)

Works Cited

Akst, Daniel. "Should Robots with Artificial Intelligence Have Moral or Legal Rights?" Wall Street Journal, 10 Apr. 2023. US Major Dailies, https://login.lscsproxy.lonestar.edu/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/usmajordailies/newspapers/should-robots-with-artificial-intelligence-have/docview/2798764407/sem-2?accountid=7054.

Example (website):

In-Text

(Mizan)

Works Cited

Mizan, Nusaiba. "Girl Scout Cookies Price Hike: What's the Price Per Box and Where Is the Money Going?" Houston Chronicle, 26 Jan. 2024, https://www.houstonchronicle.com/business/retail/article/girl-scouts-cookies-price-increase-18628206.php.

Web Sources

Webpage without an author

"Title of webpage." Title of Website, Date, URL.

Example:

In-Text

("Shrinking Moon").

Works Cited

"Shrinking Moon Causing Moonquakes and Faults Near Lunar South Pole." NASA, 25 Jan. 2024, https://www.nasa.gov/earth/moon/shrinking-moon-causing-moonquakes-and-faults-near-lunar-south-pole/.

Social Media Post

Author [handle if different]. "Title of post/post text." Platform, Date, URL.

(TIP: If the social media platform doesn't allow you to link to a post directly, you can link the creator's account page.)

Example (Twitter / X):

In-Text

(Lone Star College).

Works Cited

Lone Star College. "We received approval to offer bachelor's degrees, including Bachelor of Science in Nursing; Bachelor of Applied Technology in Cybersecurity; and Bachelor of Applied Science in Energy, Manufacturing & Trades Management." X, 11 Dec. 2019, https://x.com/lonestarcollege/status/1204842366357651456.

Example (Instagram):

In-Text

(Lone Star College).

Works Cited

Lone Star College. "The Houston Business Journal named Mario K. Castillo, J.D., LSC chancellor among the Top 100 Texans who have made an impact in 2023." Instagram, 12 Jan. 2024, https://www.instagram.com/p/C2BElOfMWpc/.

Blog Post

Author or username. "Title of Post." Title of Blog, Blog Publisher, Date, URL.

Example:

In-Text

("How Do I Cite").

Works Cited

"How Do I Cite a State Law?" Ask the MLA, MLA Style Center, 18 Oct. 2023, https://style.mla.org/citing-state-laws/.

Video

Online Video

"Title of Video." Platform title, uploaded by Username, Day Month Year, URL.

Example (YouTube):

In-Text

("What is" 00:00:25-00:02:35)

Works Cited

"What is 8-bit?" YouTube, uploaded by Pocket Gamer, 28 Aug. 2015, https://youtu.be/QaIoW1aL9GE?si=bjx7AF-Ea8-FvwVm.

Movie Viewed Online

Director Last Name, Director First Name, director. Title of Movie. Screenplay by First Name Last Name, Studio Name, Year. Platform title, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(Parker 00:55:51-01:10:26)

Works Cited

Parker, Oliver, director. Othello. Screenplay by Oliver Parker, Columbia Pictures, 1995. Swank Digital Campus, https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/lsconline395001/watch/5B248CF117888F54?referrer=direct.

TV Show Viewed Online

"Title of Episode." Day Month Year Aired. Title of TV Series, created by First Name Last Name, season number, episode number, Studio Name, Year. Platform title, URL.

Example:

In-Text

("To the Physical" 00:23:10-00:28:13)

Works Cited

"To the Physical and Mental Limit." The Amazing Race, created by Elise Doganieri and Bertram van Munster, season 1, episode 10, CBS, 2001. Swank Digital Campus, https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/lsconline395001/watch/C1C2FD73531F1345?referrer=direct.

Images & Art

Image on a Website

Artist's Last Name, First Name. "Title of image." Title of Website, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(Beaton)

Works Cited

Beaton, Kate. "Tesla, Marconi, Edison." Hark! A Vagrant, http://www.harkavagrant.com/index.php?id=256.

Artwork on a Website

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of Work. Date of creation, Institution and city were the work is physically located. Name of webpage, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(O'Keefe)

Works Cited

O'Keefe, Georgia. Red Hill and White Shell. 1938, Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. MFAH, https://emuseum.mfah.org/objects/17860/red-hill-and-white-shell?ctx=c469d6c7436b6ddfaeba46e287e6d599ebbed0c0&idx=0.

Untitled Image with No Author on a Website

Description of image. Title of Website, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(Picture)

Works Cited

Picture of student studying at a table while wearing headphones. Wired, https://www.wired.com/story/tips-apps-help-students-study-notes-homework-help/.

Music & Audio

Song from a Streaming Service

Artist Last name, First name. "Title of Song." Title of Album, Recording Label, Date. Name of streaming service.

Example:

In-Text

(Lipa 0:51–59).

Works Cited

Lipa, Dua. "Dance the Night." Barbie The Album, Atlantic, 2023. Spotify.

Song from a CD

Artist Last name, First name. "Title of Song." Title of Album, Recording Label, Date. CD.

Example:

In-Text

(Odom 0:30-40).

Works Cited

Odom, Leslie, Jr. "Wait For It." Hamilton (Original Broadway Cast Recording), written by Lin-Manuel Miranda, Atlantic, 2015. CD.

Digital Audiobook

Author Last name, First name. Title. Narrated by First Name Last Name, Publisher, Date. Audiobook platform.

Example:

In-Text

(Cline 00:35:30-00:37:10).

Works Cited

Cline, Ernest. Ready Player One. Narrated by Wil Wheaton, Random House Audio, 2011. Audible.

Audiobook on CD

Author Last name, First name. Title. Narrated by First Name Last Name, Publisher, Date.

Example:

In-Text

(Worth 00:45:51–00:47:30).

Works Cited

Worth, Jennifer. Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times. Narrated by Nicola Barber, HighBridge Company, 2012.

Episode of a Podcast from a Website

Host Last name, First name, host. "Title of Episode." Title of Podcast, season number, episode number, Publisher, Date. Website, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(Gonzalez and Malone 00:10:15-00:12:01).

Works Cited

Gonzalez, Sarah and Kenny Malone, hosts. "Why '90s Ads Are Unforgettable." Planet Money, NPR, 2023. NPR, https://www.npr.org/2023/12/13/1197956022/got-milk-soap-operas-advertising.

Episode of a Podcast from an App

Host Last name, First name, host. "Title of Episode." Title of Podcast, season number, episode number, Platform, Date.

Example:

In-Text

(Fishel et al. 00:14:30-00:15:30).

Works Cited

Fishel, Danielle et al, hosts. "Wesley Jonathan Meets World." Pod Meets World, iHeart Radio, 4 Feb. 2024.

Court Case

Government Entity. Name of the Case. Date of decision, Name of Website, Publisher, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(United States, Supreme Court).

Works Cited

United States, Supreme Court. Brown v. Board of Education. 17 May 1954. Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School, https://www.law.cornell.edu/supremecourt/text/347/483.

Laws and Bills

Title of work. Title number, Publisher, Date, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(United States Code).

Works Cited

United States Code. Title 17, GovInfo, 2023, https://www.govinfo.gov/app/details/USCODE-2023-title17/.

State Laws

Government Entity. Title of work. Name of website, Date, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(Texas State, Legislature).

Works Cited

Texas State, Legislature. SB 563. Texas Legislature Online, 10 Jun. 2019, https://capitol.texas.gov/BillLookup/History.aspx?LegSess=86R&Bill=SB563.

Government Webpage

"Title of webpage." Website, Publisher, Date, URL.

Example:

In-Text

("Librarians").

Works Cited

"Librarians and Media Specialists." Occupational Outlook Handbook, U. S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 6 Sep. 2023, https://www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-and-library/librarians.htm.

Reports

Government author. Title of Report. Publisher, Date. Website, URL.

Example:

In-Text

(United States, Department of Health and Human Services 5-7).

Works Cited

United States, Department of Health and Human Services, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2023 National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report. GovInfo, 14 Dec. 2023, https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CMR-HE20_6500-00184279/pdf/CMR-HE20_6500-00184279.pdf.

Generative AI & Chatbots

MLA has provided some new and developing guidance on how to cite AI generated content in your paper.

Best Practices for AI Content

cite generative AI whenever paraphrasing, quoting, or incorporating AI generated work into your work
acknowledge within your paper in a note or other means any functional ways that you used AI in your work (ex- editing your writing, translating words)
be sure to check all secondary sources that the AI might cite (VERY IMPORTANT!)

Author:

At this time, MLA does not recommend citing the AI tool as an author.

Title of Source:

Describe what was generated or include the prompt given to the AI.

Title of Container:

Name the AI tool that was used. (Example: ChatGPT, Bard)

Version:

Describe the version of the AI tool as specifically as possible. (Example: ChatGPT 3.5)

Publisher:

Company that made the tool

Date:

Date the content was generated.

Location:

URL for the tool

Example (text):

In-Text

("Describe the history")

Works Cited

"Describe the history of werewolves." ChatGPT, 3.5, Open AI, 7 Feb. 2024, https://chat.openai.com.

Example (image):

In-Text

("Werewolf running")

Works Cited

"Werewolf running in a forest with purple trees." Stable Diffusion, Stable Diffusion XL, Stability.AI, 7 Feb. 2024, https://stablediffusionweb.com/.

How do I cite generative AI? -MLA Style
MLA Style Center guide for citing generative AI and Chatbots

Personal Communication

Personal Interview

Last name, First name of person being interviewed. Personal Interview. Day Month Year of interview.

Example:

In-Text

(Smith)

Works Cited

Smith, Betty. Personal Interview. 28 Nov. 2023.

Email

Author Last name, First name. "Title of source from email subject line." Received by Recipient first name last name, Date.

Example:

In-Text

(Hopwood)

Works Cited

Hopwood, Megan. "Water Features in the Library." Received by Katherine McGittigan, 15 Feb. 2023.