Skip to Main Content

LSC-Online Library Faculty Services: Library Collections

Library services for LSC-Online Faculty

Library Collections

E-books

The Library subscribes to several different e-book platforms. 

  • EBSCO E-books: ebooks purchased in support of curriculum
  • ProQuest Ebook Central: over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics
  • Gale Ebooks: dozens of complete reference books on a variety of subjects
  • STAT!Ref: full-text electronic medical library

 

Research Databases

LSCS Libraries provide access to a large collection of research databases to support students in research. For off-campus access to library resources, enter your 14-digit library card number (back of LSC ID) or login using your myLoneStar username and password.

Decisions regarding database subscriptions are determined by the LSCS Libraries Database Committee and approved by the Library Executive Council.

 

Streaming Video

The Library provides access to three major streaming video platforms to support research and instruction. All platforms support embedding in D2L. 

  • Academic Video Online: Premium: full-length videos on various topics, documentaries, instructional materials and limited historical news reports
  • Films on Demand: high-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS
  • Kanopy: classic cinema, independent films, and top documentaries in streaming video

 

Swank Digital Campus - exclusive to LSC-Online

Swank is a streaming service with access to feature films. LSC-Online has purchased a set amount of credits for Swank videos. 

 If you are interested in using a Swank video in your class, please contact your Librarian, Katie McGittigan, for more information.

LSC-Online Faculty can create an instructor account to search the video catalog and place requests for videos needed for their class.

Accessing Library Resources from Anywhere

Accessing Library Resources from Anywhere

LSC Library Online Resources are accessible to LSC students, faculty, and staff from anywhere that you are able to access the internet. Follow the steps below to access the online resources.

 

Step 1: Locate the Resource that you want to use

Click on the Link to a Library Database or eBook. This might be a link posted in your D2L class, a link in the Library Catalog, or on a Library Research Guide.

A good place to start is with the LSCS Libraries Research Databases page.

The Library subscribes to over 100 different library databases, or collections of library resources. Depending on the subject that you are researching, you might need to search different library databases. 

To locate a database useful for your research, click on a subject area. If you know what database you need, try the "All Databases by Title" button to see a full alphabetical list.

Screenshot of LSC Research Databases page with text next to the subjects saying "click on a subject to look for databases by topics" and an arrow pointing to the "All Databases by Title" button

 

You'll see a list of databases with descriptions. Click on the title of a database to search that resource.

Screenshot of the A-Z list of databases

 

Step 2: Show Your Lone Star College credentials

Once you click on the link to the database or resource, you need to show that you are a current Lone Star College student. (Just like showing a physical library card if you want to check out a physical book.)

A box will pop up asking you to choose an option to login: library barcode or myLoneStar login.

Screenshot of Database Access Popup showing buttons for login options with a library barcode or myLonestar details

 

 

What is a Library Barcode and do I need one?

Your myLoneStar login will give you access to 99% of the online library resources.

The only exception to this is if you need to watch a video on Swank. For this platform, you will need a library barcode.

A Library Barcode number is a 14 digit number that acts as your library card with LSC.

If you have a physical Student ID card from Lone Star College, you should have a library barcode number printed on the back of the card.

If you are an online student, you can request a barcode be sent to your email by completing the Barcode Request Form. (Please note this can take up to 48hr. Barcodes will be emailed only to LoneStar email addresses.)

 

Faculty Recommendations

Faculty recommendations for library materials are highly appreciated and encouraged.

To suggest materials for addition to the collection, please reach out to your librarian or fill out the Library Materials Recommendation Form.