LSC Library Online Resources are accessible to LSC students, faculty, and staff from anywhere that you are able to access the internet. Watch the short video tutorial or follow the steps below to access the online resources.
Click on the Link to a Library Database or eBook. This might be a link posted in your D2L class, a link in the Library Catalog, or on a Library Research Guide.
Not sure where to search searching? Try starting with the Library Discovery search, which is available on the LSC Libraries Homepage (the search box located directly under the photography on the page.)
Discovery searches across most library resources at once, including books, articles, and video.
You can also search a specific database collection by visiting LSCS Libraries Research Databases page.
The Library subscribes to over 100 different library databases, or collections of library resources. Depending on the subject that you are researching, you might need to search different library databases.
To locate a database useful for your research, click on a subject area.
If you know what database you need, try the "All Databases by Title" button to see a full alphabetical list.
You'll see a list of databases with descriptions. Click on the title of a database to search that resource.
Once you click on the link to the database or resource, you need to show that you are a current Lone Star College student. (Just like showing a physical library card if you want to check out a physical book.)
A box will pop up asking you to choose an option to login: myLoneStar email address and password, or 14-digit library barcode number.
Your myLoneStar login will give you access to 99% of the online library resources.
The only exception to this is if you need to watch a video on Swank. For this platform, you will need a library barcode.
A Library Barcode number is a 14 digit number that acts as your library card with LSC.
If you have a physical Student ID card from Lone Star College, you should have a library barcode number printed on the back of the card.
If you are an online student, you can request a barcode be sent to your email by completing the Barcode Request Form. (Please note this can take up to 48hr. Barcodes will be emailed only to Lone Star email addresses.)
Ask A Librarian
