Sources for Literature Review
As you create your literature review for your assignment, you will want to search for background sources regarding your topic.
You will use keyword terms describing your topic to search in our library and other resources for articles, reports, and other types of sources.
Start by getting an overview of your topic using our reference databases
Try the search terms “ethics and statistics” in Gale in Context: Science
Located under the “Reference & Background” tab on the LSC Library’s Science & Technology Research Databases page
https://www.lonestar.edu/library/14624.htm
Also try the search terms“ethical guidelines in research” and “research ethics” searches in Academic Search Complete, located under the “Articles” tab on the LSC Library’s Science & Technology Research Databases page
https://www.lonestar.edu/library/14624.htm
Once you have gotten an overview and a better understanding of your topic, you may want to search in our research databases for Social Sciences for additional sources. Research databases for Social Sciences are located on this page, under the "Articles" tab:
https://www.lonestar.edu/library/14631.htm
Add additional terms to make your search results more relevant to your specific topic. In each source record in the databases, additional, related search terms will be listed that you can also use to search.
General Examples of Statistical Techniques
Statistical Study Examples from Penn State University
https://online.stat.psu.edu/stat200/book/export/html/21
Elgin Community College: The Design of Experiments
https://faculty.elgin.edu/dkernler/statistics/ch01/1-6.html
Free resources online for demographic and national statistics
US Statistical Abstracts (Census.gov)
https://www.census.gov/
US Bureau of the Census data exploration page (tables, maps, etc.)
https://www.census.gov/data.html
US Census Guide to Sources of Statistics
https://www.census.gov/library/publications/2008/compendia/statab/128ed/guide-to-sources.html
Data.gov: home of the U.S. Government’s open data
https://data.gov/
United Nations statistical division
https://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic-social/index.cshtml
Social Explorer: Provides easy, visual access to demographic and economic data using maps, reports, and data downloads. Limited data sets available with the free access plan.
https://www.socialexplorer.com/
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
https://nces.ed.gov/
Additional resources
University of St. Thomas Library Statistics Page
https://libguides.stthomas.edu/stat_courses
JSTOR text analyzer – upload a text to search for articles and books (information sources)
https://www-jstor-org.lscsproxy.lonestar.edu/analyze/
Guide to APA Citation Style
https://lonestar-online.libguides.com/c.php?g=1245446&p=9112891