The above video explains the differences between primary and secondary sources.
In the study of history, primary sources refers to first-hand accounts of events. For example, some of your sources for research in World War I and World War II include:
Here is an assortment of primary sources for research in World War I.
Look for those related to the war or dated within the US entry to the war.
1917 British declaration in favor of a Jewish homeland in Palestine.
The new Soviet Union signs a peace treaty with Germany and Russia exits the war.
Britain and France agree to divide up the nations now known as Israel, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, Kuwait, Iraq, and northern Saudi Arabia after the defeat of the Ottoman Empire.
1914 Presidential proclamation to keep the US out of the war.
President Wilson threatens Germany not to attack neutral shipping with submarines in 1915.
Germany proposes an alliance with Mexico in the event of war with the USA.
President Wilson asks Congress to declare war on Germany on February 3, 1917.
Law that restricted the actions of the anti-war movement.
The Supreme Court upholds the constitutionality of the Espionage Act in 1919.
The 1919 dissent of Justice Holmes argues against the power of the federal government to restrict speech during wartime should be limited.
Executive order on May 19, 1917 drafting men into the armed forces.
An American perspective on this worldwide event.
Wartime posters by artist Howard Chandler Christy.
President Wilson’s proposed peace plan.
This 1919 treaty ended the war between the Allies and Germany.
This 1919 treaty established the League of Nations.
Here is an assortment of primary sources for research in World War II.
British Prime Minister defends the Munich Agreement, handing over Czechoslovakia to Nazi Germany in 1938.
1939 letter by Einstein urges the US to develop an atomic bomb before Germany does.
1941 law authorizes the US to lend, lease, or sell any material to any nation if deemed essential for the national defense. This allowed the US to sell war materials to the UK.
A 1941 agreement between the US and UK prior to US entering World War II.
Look for those related to the war or dated within the US entry to the war.
Roosevelt’s famous “day which will live in infamy” speech to Congress on December 8, 1941.
In 1942, President Roosevelt orders the internment of Japanese-Americans.
Japanese-American interned in the United States.
American television personality Dick Clark remembers being a teenager during World War II.
Extract from a 1943 report to the Governor of California on riots in Los Angeles between Mexican-Americans and American servicemen.
Congressional testimony in 1945 about employment discrimination against American-Americans during the wartime labor shortage.
Congressional and Presidential documents for these legal events.
1944 agreement between the US and UK to establish cooperative national monetary policies.
1943 agreement between the US, USSR, and UK that Chinese territory under Japanese control should be restored to China. At this point the USSR had not yet entered the war against Japan.
1943 agreement between the US, USSR, and UK in which the western Allies committed to invading France in 1944 and established joint policies for Yugoslavia, Turkey, and Bulgaria.
Message issued to soldiers upon the Invasion of Normandy on June 6, 1944.
German high command surrenders to General Eisenhower on May 7, 1945.
1942 agreement of 26 nations to affirm the Atlantic Charter and establish a United Nations organization to shape the postwar world order.
The formal establishment and organization of the UN on June 26, 1945.
Look for those from his oath of office (April 12, 1945) through the end of the war in August.
Diary entry about the plan to use the atomic bomb.
Truman's public statement on the atomic bombing of Hiroshima.
Audio file and transcript.
Truman's public statement on the atomic bombing of Hiroshima.
Formal statement overseen by General MacArthur on September 2, 1945.
Now that you have keywords, it's time to search the databases. Have you used the databases before? If you don't have recent experience with our library's databases, then I suggest watching this introductory video.
Secondary sources are sources of information written by people who are citing primary (or even other secondary sources) as their sources of information.
That's a complicated definition, so let's simplify it. Historical books and articles written by people who weren't actually there are secondary sources.
Here are some good databases for finding secondary sources about historical topics.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Hundreds of full-text journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back more than 60 years.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete historical full text of all issues of peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of humanities and social science fields. Articles are typically more than 5 years old. Video Tutorial
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database; full text of articles from over 5,300 journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections. Video Tutorial
We have two excellent ebook databases. These let you read full-text books online. The interfaces can be confusing, so I have included a tutorial video for each one.
The video above shows you how to search the ebook database titled EBSCO eBook Collection.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
The video above shows you how to search the database ProQuest EBook Central.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included.
Video Tutorial